In Opposition

What I Expected, What I Got

IMG_0764

It is almost ten months now since I began to manifest my feminine being to the outside world. I grew my hair longer, started wearing lipstick, began scouring women's clothing sites and buying women's clothing. Then I began presenting femininely in public. I was very anxious about the pushback I expected to get and surprised when it didn't happen. To be sure, there have been disapproving looks from strangers, men mostly. Most significantly, there has been pushback from the women closest to me, my wife, my mother, my sister. They've had to adjust their idea of me and that has been a process.

The most pleasant surprise of all, however, has been the number of people who have gone out of their way to affirm my feminine forward presentation. A neighbor from a few doors up was driving by and stopped to tell me he thought I had been rocking my outfits lately. Another neighbor I often pass during early morning walks told me she thought my outfits had been really cute lately. A vender in the farmer's market told me she had been noticing me for a while and that she loved my style.

I am not naive. I know I can expect some ugly moments at some point. But for now, I am basking in the warmth of loving acceptance.

Comments Welcome